Why is it that deleting a form field in Machform automatically removes all data collected by that field up the point of deletion. Surely the existing data could/should be preserved even if that field is no longer required. This problem was brought home to me again yesterday when I needed to change the Name field from the short (First and Last names only) version to the longer (Prefix, First and Last names) version. Upon trying to delete the shorter version I was warned that all data would be deleted as well, again, why? I still needed the names collected thus far even though I was changing the format.
Hiding the field and inserting the longer version is a workaround but a clunky one as the old name field still appears on the record. Does anyone else have a solution to this problem?